Best Joke I’ve Heard of Late

Janine was planning a trip to Halifax for business. Her friend Rebecca learned of it urged Janine to absolutely find the best place in town for scrod, a local fish delicacy and to try when she had the chance. Janine faithfully promised her friend that absolutely, yes, she would make time in her schedule to do so.

The week passes with every day being far too busy and Janine too occupied to live up to her promise. In fact, her schedule is so busy that almost the entirety of the week passes by before Janine remembers, finally, on the last day of her visit to Halifax, the promise she had made before she left. Being mindful of this and as her last day of meetings ended early, she decides to go out for dinner and sample the dish.

After a visit to her hotel room for a brief freshening up and a change of clothing, she stepped out of her hotel and hailed a cab.

“Where to, Miss?” asks the cabbie.

“Well, I’ve been in town all week,” she admits, slightly embarassed, “and my schedule hasn’t let me keep a promise I made to my friend. Tonight is the last night that I am here and have the chance to keep it. I would like you to take me to the finest place in town to get scrod.”

The cabbie turns around to face her and looks her square in the eye.

“Miss,’ he said, with a mixture of surprise, disbelief, and grudging respect in his voice, “I’ve been driving cab for 32 years. I’ve had a lot of people ask me that question in a lot of different ways.”

“But this is the first time I’ve had it asked in the pluperfect subjunctive.”

/joke

And pause.

Don’t feel bad if you don’t get it.

One thought on “Best Joke I’ve Heard of Late

Leave a Reply

